Programme for 2022-2023

Ancestry and DNA 14th July 2022

Ancestry and DNA 14th July 2022

 

Date Subject Speaker
Thursday 13th January 2022 The Blacksmith’s Art Through Time Joe Escott
Thursday 10th February 2022 The History of Bacteriology Ann Robertson
Saturday 19th – Sunday 20th March 2022 Thriplow Daffodil Weekend

Open Smithy and Exhibition

Thursday 28th April 2022 AGM followed by the first “Bill Wittering Memorial Lecture” Shirley Wittering
Thursday 12th May 2022 Plastics, Packaging and Sustainability: The Real Truth Paul Earnshaw
Thursday 9th June 2022 Names Halfway to Heaven: the stories behind the graffiti in the roof of Ely Cathedral Mark Bradford
Saturday 9th July 2022 A Year in the Life of a Churchwarden & Strawberry Tea JohnRimmer
Thursday 14th July 2022 Ancestry and DNA Alyce Merry
Saturday 20th August 2022 Smithy Open and Cleaning Meet at 10:30 am
Thursday 13th October 2022 Cleaning up Victorian Cambridge John Flood from the Museum of Technology
Thursday 10th November 2022 The Story of Trumpington Meadows Iain Webb from the Wildlife Trust for Beds, Cambs and Northants
Thursday 12th January 2023 The Role of an Alderman in the City of London Sir William Russell
Thursday 9th February 2023 Middle East Archaeology and Me Harriet Crawford
Saturday 25th – Sunday 26th March 2023 Thriplow Daffodil Weekend

Open Smithy and Exhibition

 
Thursday 13th April 2023 AGM followed by the second “Bill Wittering Memorial Lecture” Shirley Wittering

All the meetings apart from the Daffodil Weekend, the Strawberry Tea and the Smithy Cleaning Session start at 8pm in the Thriplow village hall and include light refreshments.

Admission is free for members. Visitors are very welcome but are asked to pay £2. We hope to see you soon!

Thriplow Society Committee